Hyundai A-League Season 6

Glory fail to capitalise
By Nick Guoth

A-League 2010/2011 - Round 25
Saturday 29 January, 2011 6:45pm WST - East Perth Oval (nib Stadium), Perth

Perth Glory FC 0
lost to
Sydney FC 0
(Nick Carle 9', Bruno Cazarine 53')

(Photo linked from FFA web site)

Sydney FC put themselves just slightly back into the running to reach the Finals of the Hyundai A-League after they defeated Perth Glory 2-0 at nib Stadium in Perth on Saturday night.

The game was nearly postponed as a cyclone warning was put up for Perth, the dreaded storm not eventuating during the game. instead strong humidity and a cooling drop in temperature from the 40C during the day met the players.

Even so, it was the same story for Perth at home. They created numerous chances, had the bulk of possession yet were unable to finish any of their chances. To say they should have done better in this match is a real concern come the off-season.

Sydney, though, jumped off the blocks immediately and kept Perth in their own half for nearly all of the opening twenty minutes. Thus when they scored just before ten had gone, it was well deserved.

A lovely interchange between the two strikers Nick Carle and Bruno Cazarine opened up the defence. Carle picked the ball up in midfield and then with three touches, the last with his head, sent the ball looping over the outreaching arms of Tando Velaphi.

Midway through the half, Perth found their feet and commenced a relentless set of attacks at the Sydney bastion. Robbie Fowler headed wide from a Steven McGarry cross. Adriano Pelegrino volleyed wide from a Naum Sekulovski cross.

This became a pattern throughout the match with numerous good crosses coming into the Sydney penalty area and the Perth players appearing not hungry enough or unable to find even the target. In fact, during the whole match only one of the eight shots was on target and that did not concern Ivan Necevski.

Sydney, though were not all defence as the speedy young Dimitri Petratos caused some headaches for the Perth back line. Josh Mitchell timed his tackle well to snuff out one Petratos chance, while another, where he beat Scott Neville, saw the ball sting Valaphi's hands.

In the second half Sydney again came out firing. Matthew Jurman headed wide from a Sung Hwan Byun cross, then a little bit of controversy matched with some indiscipline in defence by Perth.

Still arguing and despondent about not being awarded a corner, Perth were found static when Byun sent a long ball down the right. Sekulovski had Petratos and Cazarine to deal with, but the two combined well for Cazarine to volley home between Velaphi's legs.

It was somewhat against the run of play, yet it showed Perth what they were lacking - a potent striker who could finish. And that continued as play went on.

Fowler shot wide after being put in by Mile Sterjovski. Then Sterjovski had the best chance of the day for his team. Pelegrino sent a delightful ball over the static defence and the striker only had Necevski to beat but shot wide when he really should have at least tested the keeper.

Todd Howarth continued his attempts at elevating his side and when he sent in yet another superb cross from the left there was not a single soul interested in attacking the ball.

In fact the sole strike on target came five minutes form the end from substitute Adam Taggart, who did look lively, but that went straight at Necevski.

There are a number of rumors around about who Perth will attempt to attract across the Nullabor, but certainly they will need to do something to improve their chances come the 2011-12 season.

For Sydney though, they are still in with the slightest of hopes, but really have to win all of their matches from here on and hope for the best. Their opponents, though, will not be as kind as Perth in front of goal.

A-League 2010/2011 - Round 25
Saturday 29 January, 2011 6:45pm WST - East Perth Oval (nib Stadium), Perth

Perth Glory FC 0
lost to
Sydney FC 0
(Nick Carle 9', Bruno Cazarine 53')

    Crowd: 5,576


    Perth Glory FC :
    Player listing:
    1. Tando Velaphi (gk), 2. Josh Mitchell, Jacob Burns (c), 9. Robbie Fowler (26. Adam Taggart +76'), 12. Scott Neville, 14. Steven McGarry (15. Howard Fondyke +58'), 16. Adriano Pellegrino, 17. Todd Howarth, 19. Naum Sekulovski, 21. Mile Sterjosvski, 24. Joshua Risdon (13. Tommy Amphlett +58')

    Substitutes not used: 20. Alex Pearson (rgk)

    Coach: Ian Ferguson

    Yellow Cards: Nil
    Red Cards: Nil

    Sydney FC :
    Player listing:
    20. Ivan Necevski, 3. Stephan Keller, 6. Hirofumi Moriyasu (12. Shannon Cole +68'), 8. Stuart Musialik, 9. Bruno Cazarine (18. Juho Makela +79'), 10. Nick Carle (2. Sebastian Ryall +78), 15. Terry McFlynn (c), 21. Scott Jamieson, 22. Sung Hwan Byun, 24. Dimitri Petratos

    Substitutes not used: 30. Dylan Mitchell (rgk)

    Coach: Vitezslav Lavicka

    Yellow Cards: Nil
    Red Cards: Nil

    Referee: Gerard Parsons 8/10
    Assistants: Matthew Cheeseman, Michael Nugus, 4th official: Josh Manella

    Pitch rating: 8.5/10

    Game rating: 7/10

    BOTN Player Points :

    3. Bruno Cazarine (SF)
    2. Dimitri Petratos (SF)
    1. Adriano Pellegrino (PG)

    by Nick Guoth

Picture Gallery


Disclaimer: The content of this report is the responsibility of the writer. Stats are either as recorded by the writer at the game, or as supplied by FFA, or a mixture - no responsibility can be taken for their complete accuracy although we do strive for that. Any photos used here, unless clearly attributed, are as supplied or made available by or through FFA and thus used by permission.

Crafted lovingly by hand
By fans, for fans
© Magic Llama 2000 - 2011