Opinions Page

The views expressed here are the writers only and are not to be taken to represent the views of BOTN or its team!

Report on the Hyundai A-League Season 7 - Final Series launch

The Toilet Seat up for grabs!

(Coach of the Premiers, Central Coast Mariners - Graham Arnold - relaxed and confident)

The terrific HAL 7 season League is now over, with Central Coast Mariners pipping last season's winner Brisbane Roar for the Premiership. The Premiers Plate has but yet to be handed over in an FFA ceremony but now the 2011-2012 Hyundai A-League season 7 Finals Series has been launched progressively from Tuesday, 27 March with Wellington, Perth, and Melbourne Heart leading off. Then on Wednesday it was the turn of Sydney FC and the Premiers Central Coast Mariners to have their own launches.

(Central Coast Mariners FC captain Alex Wilkinson, before the camera)

Graham Arnold was confident going into the Major Semis, though he clearly admitted that Brisbane Roar were on an equal footing to his side and that it would come down to who was firing on the day.

At a short ceremony at Tuggerah, NSW, in the first buildings stage of the Mariners football centre of excellence, Chairman Peter Turnbull launched the Central Coast tilt at the Championship's 'Toilet Seat'.

Several Mariners players were also presented with the Professional Players Association (PFA) awards. Voted by the players in the league, trophies as part of PFA's team of the season.

(Central Coast Mariners FC PFA Award Winners - Mat Ryan, Patrick Zwaanswijk, Alex Wilkinson, Graham Arnold, Joshua Rose)

PFA A-League Team of the Season: Goalkeeper: Mathew Ryan (Central Coast Mariners); Defenders: Michael Marrone (Melbourne Heart), Patrick Zwaanswijk (Central Coast Mariners), Joshua Rose (Central Coast Mariners); Midfielders: Thomas Broich (Brisbane Roar), Fred (Melbourne Heart), Mitch Nicholls (Brisbane Roar), Aziz Behich (Melbourne Heart); Forwards: Paul Ifill (Wellington Phoenix), Besart Berisha (Brisbane Roar), Archie Thompson (Melbourne Victory)
Substitutes: Clint Bolton (Melbourne Heart), Andrew Durante (Wellington Phoenix), Nicky Carle (Sydney FC), Carlos Hernandez (Melbourne Victory), Harry Kewell (Melbourne Victory)

The Finals Series games schedule:

Elimination Final (4v5): Wellington Phoenix v Sydney FC Friday 30 March, 2012 Westpac Stadium, Wellington Kick Off 8.00pm (NZT) Gates Open 6.30pm

Major Semi-Final (leg 1): Brisbane Roar v Central Coast Mariners Saturday 31 March Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane Kick off: 4.30pm local time Gates Open: 3.00pm local time

Elimination Final: Perth Glory v Melbourne Heart Sunday 1 April, 2012 nib Stadium, Perth Kick Off 5.00pm (WST) Gates Open 3.30pm

Major Semi-Final (leg 2): Central Coast Mariners v Brisbane Roar Sunday 8 April Bluetongue Stadium, Gosford Kick off: 5.00pm local time Gates Open: 3.30pm local time

Report and two photos by Chris Dunkerley, from Tuggerah 28 March, 2012

A-League: 2011-2012 Season
BOTN Team Podcast - No.2
'Round 27, and into the Finals'


By fans for fans!
Crafted lovingly by hand
© Magic Llama 2000 - 2012