Sydney come from 4th to win W-League Final

Westfield W-League – 2012/2013 – Season 5 – Final

Sydney come from 4th to win Final
By BOTN writers (thanks to FFA media)

2012/2013 W-League – Final
3:30pm – Sunday 27 January, 2013 – Melbourne Football Stadium

Melbourne Victory FC 1
(Petra Larsson 41′)
lost to
Sydney FC 3
(Nicola Bolger 25′, Sam Kerr 48′, Kyah Simon 85’ pen)

Sydney FC have won the Westfield W-League Final and become ‘Champions’ for the second time with a 3-1 win over hosts Melbourne Victory FC.

Sydney came from 4th in the league, beating Premiers Brisbane Roar FC in a sudden death semi-final, whilst 2rd placed Melbourne defeated Perth Glory FC on penalties after extra time in their semi.

An involved crowd of 4,181 – the second largest in the five-year history of the league – witnessed a typically entertaining contest between two well-matched opponents.

The contest was an end-to-end affair throughout with both goalkeepers – Melbourne’s Brianna Davey and Sydney’s Sham Khamis – displaying outstanding form.

The two sides went into the break sharing a goal apiece, however Sydney broke the deadlock early in the second period and a late penalty extendeed their lead in a tight contest.

Nicola Bolger got the Sky Blues off the mark midway through the first half, with a rebound after by charging down Davey’s attempted clearance from a very ill-judged backpass by Rebekah Stott.

Swedish midfielder Petra Larsson drew the home side level with a swerving free-kick over the wall four minutes before the break as the Victory, featuring in their maiden Grand Final, looked to get back into the game.

Sydney however after the break made the prefect start with Sam Kerr spectacularly heading home Kyah Simon’s cross from the left with a leap, and delivering an equally athletic goal celebration to match.

The Victory strongly sought an equaliser throughout the second half, placing the visitors on the back foot at times, but the contest was effectively put out of their reach four minutes from time.

Victory defender Maika Ruyter-Hooley received a red card for colliding with Larissa Crummer as she bore down on goal. Official player of the match Kyah Simon scored from the penalty spot.

2012/2013 W-League – Final
3:30pm – Sunday 27 January, 2013 – Melbourne Football Stadium

Melbourne Victory FC 1
(Petra Larsson 41′)
lost to
Sydney FC 3
(Nicola Bolger 25′, Sam Kerr 48′, Kyah Simon 85’ pen)


Crowd: 4,181


Melbourne Victory FC :
Player listing: 1. Brianna DAVEY (gk), 2. Danielle JOHNSON, 3. Maika RUYTER-HOOLEY, 4. Rebekah STOTT, 5. Laura SPIRANOVIC, 6. Petra LARSSON, 7. Stephanie CATLEY, 10. Jessica McDONALD (23. Jessica HUMBLE +73′), 14. Enza BARILLA, 15. Amy JOHNSON, 17. Gulcan KOCA

Substitutes not used: 9. Tiffany ELIADIS, 11. Caitlin FRIEND, 18. Cindy LAY, 20. Cassandra DIMOVSKI (gk).

Coach: Fabrizio Soncin

Yellow Cards: Nil
Red Cards: Maika Ruyter-Hooley 86′

Sydney FC :
Player listing: 20. Sham KHAMIS (gk), 2. Teresa POLIAS, 3. Elizabeth RALSTON, 4. Sam KERR, 7. Nicola BOLGER (13. Larissa CRUMMER +80′), 9. Caitlin FOORD, 10. Renee ROLLASON, 11. Annalie LONGO (18. Brittany Whitfield +92′) 12. Chloe LOGARZO (6. Natalie TOBIN +86′), 14. Alanna KENNEDY, 17. Kyah SIMON

Substitutes not used: 8. Amy HARRISON, 1. Sian MCLAREN (rgk)

Coach: Alen Stajcic

Yellow Cards: Nil
Red Cards: Nil

Referee: Kate Jacewicz 7/10
Assistants: ; 4th official:

BOTN players to watch:

Pitch rating: 8/10

Game rating: 8/10

Match report, and ratings: BOTN writers

Photo Gallery:


Disclaimer: The content of this report is the responsibility of the writer. Stats are either as recorded by the writer at the game, or as supplied by FFA, or a mixture – no responsibility can be taken for their compete accuracy although we do strive for that. Any photos used here are as attributed.

Crafted lovingly by hand
By fans, for fans
© Magic Llama 2000 – 2013