Tigers run out winners over 10-man Spirit

2013 NSW National Premier Leagues – Mens 2 (formerly Super League)
BOTN Feature Game

Tigers run out winners over 10-man Spirit
By Chris Dunkerley

NSW National Premier Leagues – Mens 2
Round 1 – 7:00pm, Saturday 23 March, 2013
at Christie Park, Marsfield


Spirit FC 1
(Nick Trimble 5′)

lost to
Northern Tigers FC 3
(Nick McInerney 11′, David McMurray 38′, Liam McConaghy 72′)


Northern Tigers went home with the three points in the local derby at Christie Park for the 1st round of the NSW National Premier Leagues Mens 2. The result 1-3 was a fair one with the 32nd minute sending off of Spirit striker Tim Simpson a turning point.

The home side grabbed the advantage after 5 minutes when from a long corner from the left Nick Trimble bundled the ball over the line past Tigers ‘keeper Stuart Page. 1-0

Stung by this Northern Tigers stepped up the pressure and in the 9th minute they won a free kick in dangerous territory but Paul Davies shot went just over the crossbar.

In the 11th minute the score was back level as Nick McInerney lined up the angles and struck a sweet volley into the left side of goal that Murray Nelson in the Spirit goal had no chance to stop. 1-1

With the inexplicable decision by the referee to send Tim Simposn for violent conduct in a mild tussle for the ball in the 32nd minute, Spirit was never likely to regain the lead though they battled manfully to contain the more fancied Tigers.

Tigers coach Jason Eager admitted after the game that his players didn’t capitalise on so much possesion and made some poor choices in attack.

They still made Spirit pay in the 38th minute when David McMurray netted his teams second. 1-2

Spirit came out after the break with the intention of closing down the Tigers as quickly as possible and cutting off second balls. They did this quite well, though Matthew Collina and Paul Davies still managed to get in shots – but off target.

At last the pressure told – Spirit tired and lost possession in crucial places.

Liam McConaghy took the game beyond reach with a 72nd minute goal after some clean lead up work by his team-mates. 1-3

In the 80th minute Northern Tigers’ Stefan De Jesus hit the post, and three minutes later Spirit’s last chance went begging as it sailed past the post.

A dream start to the season away by the Tigers, but Spirit showed enough in this quite good standard game that they will be a force.

‘Grade’ 20: Spirit FC 2 – Northern Tigers FC 2

NSW National Premier Leagues – Mens 2
Round 1 – 7:00pm, Saturday 23 March, 2013
at Christie Park, Marsfield

Spirit FC 1
(Nick Trimble 5′)
lost to
Northern Tigers FC 3
(Nick McInerney 11′, Liam McConaghy 38′, David McMurray 72′)

Crowd: abt. 50


Spirit FC 

Player listing: 1. Murray Nelson (gk), 16. Nick Trimble, 2. Akwasi Agyei (Henry Wells +80′), 8. Matthew Clowes, 18. Lachlan Harte, 13. Ross Kethel (14. Grant Cornwell +89′), 19. Tom Lovell, 10. Alistair McKie (15. Hayden Pronin +80′), 12. Andrew McKie, 11. Callum Rogers, 9. Tim Simpson (RC)

Subs not used: 41. Hayden Brown (rgk), 4. Paul Nicolau

Coach: Rob di Ceglie

Yellow Cards: Andrew McKie 32′, Callum Rogers 54′
Red Cards: Tim Simpson 32′

Northern Tigers FC 

Player listing: 1. Stuart Page (gk), 2, Travis Oughtred, 6. Paul Davies (c), 10. Matthew Collina, 16. Steven Baveas (14. Brendan Salemah +85′), 12. Stefan De Jesus, 9. Liam McCoanaghy, 3. Nicolas McInerney (17. Peter Hubbard +88′), 7. David McMurray, 4. Malcolm Ralston, 11. Aram Derazkala Tayebi

Subs not used: 20. Jarrod Unicomb (rgk), 26. Matthew Alessi

Coach: Jason Eager

Yellow Cards:
Red cards: Nil

Referee: tba 6/10

Pitch rating: 7/10

Game rating: 7/10

Players to note: tba

Match report by Chris Dunkerley

Photo gallery:


Disclaimer: The content of this report is the responsibility of the writer. Stats are either as recorded by the writer at the game, or as supplied by FNSW, or a mixture – no responsibility can be taken for their compete accuracy although we do strive for that. Any photos used here, are as attributed.

Crafted lovingly by hand
By fans, for fans 
© Magic Llama 2000 – 2013