Brisbane into Final from 4th

By Chris Dunkerley:

Westfield Womens National League – 1st Semi-Final
3pm, Saturday 15 February 2014 – McKellar Park, Canberra

Canberra United FC 1 (Caitlin Munoz 23′)
lost to
Brisbane Roar FC 2 (Kim Carroll 4′, Elise Kellond-Knight 58′)

Brisbane Roar FC snatched a spot in the W-League Final, coming from 4th in the league by beating Premiers Canberra United FC by 2 goals to 1 on a wet afternoon in Canberra.

Brisbane started on the front foot, despite being away. In the 4th minute a quick ball played over the top by Elise Kellond-Knight found Spence overlapping and Canberra conceded a corner.

Kellond-Knight played short and receiving back from Spence she curled it into the box. Kim Carroll was on hand to bundle it past Lydia Williams in the home goal. 0-1

22 minutes in Lori Lindsey picked out Ashleigh Sykes out wide, but her cross was scrambled for a corner. Lindsey took the corner and Ashleigh Sykes sought to control in the box. It bounced up and Caitlin Munoz headed it home past Nadine Angerer. 1-1

The visitors took the lead in the second half when Kellond Knight picked up a poor clearnce from a corner, and from the edge of the area slid her shot on the wet turf past Williams. 1-2

Canberra United end the season as league Premiers, but will not progress in the finals series.

Brisbane Roar are through to next week’s W-League Final where they will await the winner of Sunday’s Semi Final clash between Sydney FC and Melbourne Victory FC at Jubilee Oval, Kogarah for their opponent and venue.

Match details
Crowd: 1,148 (in constant rain)

Canberra United FC: 1. Lydia WILLIAMS (gk), 2. Catherine BROWN (8. Meg McLAUGHLIN 89’), 4. Kendall FLETCHER, 6. Caitlin MUNOZ (15. Sally SHIPARD 70’), 7. Ellie BRUSH, 11. Michelle HEYMAN, 12. Sally ROJAHN, 13. Nicole SYKES (c), 14. Ashleigh SYKES (3. Georgia YEOMAN-DALE 50’), 16. Lori LINDSEY, 22. Stephanie OCHS

Subs not used: 20. Tudy BURKE (rgk)

Cards:  Sally Rojahn 82′, Georgia Yeoman-Dale 87’, Nicole Sykes 97’, Sally Shipard 97’

Coach: Elisabeth Michelsen

Brisbane Roar FC: 1. Nadine ANGERER (gk), 2. Laura ALLEWAY, 5. Brooke SPENCE, 7. Kim CARROLL, 8. Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT (c), 10. Katrina GORRY, 11. Vedrana POPOVIC, 13. Tameka BUTT, 16. Hayley RASO (6. Joanne BURGESS 45’), 17. Emily GIELNIK (18. Sunny FRANCO 84’), 19. Ayehsa NORRIE (9. Larissa CRUMMER 65’)

Subs not used: 20. Kate STEWART (rgk)

Cards: Nil

Coach: Belinda Wilson

Ratings and points

Referee:  Kirralee Andruschak 8/10
Assistants: Sarah Ho, tba; 4th official – tba

Game: 8/10
Pitch: 8/10 – held the water well

Player points:
3. Katrina Gorry (BR)
2. Nicole Sykes (CU)
1. Elise Kellond-Knight (BR)

By Chris Dunkerley