Victory Women end Brisbane’s finals hopes

By Mark Gojsky:

Westfield W-League 2014/2015 Season – Round 10

3pm, Sunday 16 November, 2014 – Lakeside Stadium, Melbourne

Melbourne Victory FC (Quigley 45′, Nairn 80′)


Brisbane Roar FC (Raso 2′)


Melbourne Victory Women have come from behind to beat Brisbane Roar 2-1 at Lakeside Stadium and end the visitors’ finals hopes.

Hayley Raso opened the scoring seconds into the contest, while Racheal Quigley equalised seconds before the break. Victory had all the momentum in the second half, and made it count in the 80th minute through Christine Nairn.

Brisbane shot off the blocks in the 2nd minute when Raso received a ball on the edge of the 18-yard box and shot into the far corner of the net.

Raso had a chance to add to her tally, but shot high. Quigley had Victory’s first chance minutes later, but her shot was blocked before it reached the ‘keeper.

Despite Roar’s control of the game, Victory had a golden moment to score in the 38th minute when Christine Nairn’s chipped pass found Lauren Barnes in the box, but the crossbar proved her nemesis on that occasion.

However, Racheal Quigley ensured Victory would go into the break level, tapping home an inch perfect low cross from Lisa De Vanna.

Brisbane thought they again had the lead early in the second half when Katrina Gorry played Emily Gielnik through on goal, but her goal was flagged offside.

Victory built momentum thereafter, and their pressure caused Brisbane into a backpass, but Nairn missed the resulting indirect free-kick in the box.

Raso seemed determined to keep Brisbane’s finals hopes alive, and her goalbound scorcher from distance was just tipped over the bar by a lunging Brianna Davey.

However, Nairn’s quality shone through when her dribble through the middle of the pitch led to a one-two with De Vanna, and the American made no mistake with the finish.

Victory’s number 10 was inches away from the sealer, whizzing a free-kick just wide of the post.

The result puts Victory temporarily in second place, albeit having played an extra game.

Match details

Melbourne Victory XI: 1. Brianna DAVEY (GK), (2. Hannah BREWER 70′) 12. Ella MASTRANTONIO, 5. Lauren BARNES, 7. Stephanie CATLEY (C), 8. Amy JACKSON, 9. Racheal QUIGLEY (29. Caitlin FRIEND 84′), 10. Christine NAIRN, 11. Lisa DE VANNA, 15. Emma CHECKER, 16. Beatrice GOAD, 18. Elli REED.

Unused Substitutes: 20. Cassandra DIMOVSKI (GK), 17. Gulcan KOCA,

Yellow Cards: Jackson 49′, De Vanna 81′

Red Cards: None

Brisbane Roar XI: 1. Nadine ANGERER, 4. Clare POLKINGHORNE (C), 5. Brooke SPENCE, 6. Hayley RASO, 7. Kim CARROLL, 9. Larissa CRUMMER, 10. Katrina-Lee GORRY, 11. Vedrana POPOVIC (16. Angela BEARD 62′), 13. Tameka BUTT, 14. Natasha WHEELER (18. Sunny FRANCO 77′), 17. Emily GIELNIK (19. Ayesha NORRIE 68′)

Unused Substitutes: 20. Kate STEWART (GK),

Yellow Cards: Crummer 24′, Gorry 60′, Spence 72′

Red Cards: None


Match  6/10
Pitch  9/10
Referee:    Kate Jacewicz 8/10

3. Lisa De Vanna (MV)
2  Christine Nairn (MV)
1  Steph Catley (MV)