Six-goal thriller as Glory and Victory draw

By Mark Gojszky:

Hyundai A-League – Season 10 – 2014/2015 – Round 15

5pm, Sunday 25 January, 2015 – East Perth Oval (niB Stadium)

Perth Glory FC 3

(Keogh 22’, Dino Djulbic 79’, Jamie Maclaren 89’)

drew with

Melbourne Victory FC 3

(Khalfallah 18’, Besart Berisha 42’, Kon Barbarouses 57′)


Perth Glory and Melbourne Victory have played out a six goal thriller, with the hosts overcoming a two goal deficit to draw 3-3 at nib Stadium.

Six individual goalscorers – Fahid Ben Khalfallah, Besart Berisha and Kosta Barbarouses for Victory, and Andy Keogh, Rostyn Griffiths and Jamie Maclaren for Perth – shared the spoils, with both sides’ defences leaving a lot to be desired.

Rostyn Griffiths’ early enthusiasm earned him a yellow card for an accumulation of fouls, with Victory players calling for a red card following a challenge after the caution.

However, Victory struck where it counted most, on the scoreboard, as a one-two between Finkler and Khalfallah saw the Tunisian strike in a goal from distance.

Perth responded in front of a boisterous home crowd, as Chris Harold broke free and charged into the box only to be fouled by Nathan Coe, with Andy Keogh making no mistake from the spot.

That would be Harold’s last involvement of the game, with the speedster forced off after turning awkwardly and injuring his ankle.

Both sides traded attempts on goal thereafter as Nebojsa Marinkovic flashed wide for Perth, while a deflected Barbarouses shot was dealt with by Vukovic.

The Glory goalkeeper could do nothing to deny Berisha just before half time, as Victory made Josh Risdon pay for a mistake by stripping him of possession and launching a quick counter-attack that ended with a goal to the Albanian

Berisha almost had a second goal after the break, given too much time in the box to pick up a pass from Leigh Broxham, but Vukovic stood tall to save the resulting shot.

Barbarouses wouldn’t be denied in the 57th minute, latching onto a through ball and scoring on the rebound after Glory defenders initially blocked his attempt to lay off Berisha.

Andy Keogh cut a frustrated figure in attack, and tensions nearly boiled over when he copped a stray arm from Adrian Leijer when contesting for a header, almost sparking a melee in the middle of the pitch.

He was given a strike partner up front as Kenny Lowe took off Richard Garcia for Jamie Maclaren, and the move almost paid immediate dividents when both tested Nathan Coe in goals.

It was a resulting corner that undid Victory, as Nathan Coe came off his line too slowly and wasn’t physical enough to deny the ball reaching the head of Griffiths for the goal.

Maclaren was the man of the moment, earning the 88th minute equaliser after catching Daniel Georgievski out of position and hitting a low shot past Coe into the bottom corner of the net.

He almost snatched a famous victory for Perth at the death, with his shot in the box desperately blocked by Victory defenders.

Match Stats
Perth Glory FC: 1. Danny VUKOVIC (GK), 4. Riley WOODCOCK, 5. Rostyn GRIFFITHS, 6. Dino DJULBIC, 9. Andy KEOGH, 10. Nebojsa MARINKOVIC, 11. Richard GARCIA (15. Jamie MACLAREN 73’), 14. Chris HAROLD (27. Dragan PALJIC 31’), 19. Josh RISDON, 6. Ruben ZADKOVICH, 21. Scott JAMIESON, 23. Michael THWAITE (c)

Unused Substitutes: 80. Jordan THURTELL (GK), 2, Brandon O’NEILL, 20. Danny DE SILVA

Yellow Card(s): Griffiths 3’, Keogh 68’

Melbourne Victory FC: 1. Nathan COE (GK), 2. Jason GERIA, 23. Adrian LEIJER, 4. Nick ANSELL, 15. Daniel GEORGIEVSKI, 6. Leigh BROXHAM (c), 7. Gui FINKLER (11. Connor PAIN 80’), 21. Carl VALERI, 14. Fahid BEN KHALFALLAH, 9. Kosta BARBAROUSES, 8. Besart BERISHA (22. Jesse MAKAROUNAS 87’)

Unused Substitute: 20. Lawrence THOMAS (GK), 15. Rashid MAHAZI, 18. Dylan MURNANE


Pitch: 8/10

Referee: Peter Green 7/10

Match: 9/10


3. Khalfallah (Victory)

2. Maclaren (Glory)

1. Berisha (Victory)