Melbourne City take the Double

By Chris Dunkerley
Westfield W-League – Season 8 – 2015/2016 – Final

2pm, Sunday 31 January,  2016 – Melbourne Football Stadium (AAMI)
Melbourne City FC  4 (Jennifer Beattie 32′, Kim Little 55′, Beattie Goad 79′, Lisa De Vanna 90’+5)
Sydney FC 1 (Kyah Simon 69′)


Melbourne City FC women have taken out the Premiership, Champions double, with a clear 4-1 win in Melbourne. As the Sydney coach, Daniel Barrett, admitted .. “They were the best team all season and they were the best team today.”

It was an energetic first period as both teams looked to make the break, but the first goal came in the 32nd minute, when Jennifer Beattie pushed home the ball from point blank range after her initial effort from a free-kick was parried into the post by Sydney ‘keeper Michelle Betos. 1-0

The first two City goals cam from free-kicks needlessly conceded by Sydney. Kim Little doubled City’s lead with a well taken free kick into the top left corner in the 55th minute that Michelle Betos could do nothing to stop.  2-0

It looked like Sydney might make a game of it when Kyah Simon reduced the deficit with a goal from the penalty spot in the 69th minute after Alanna Kennedy was fouled from a corner. 2-1

Melbourne still was in control, and with the Sydney pushing numbers forward, Lisa De Vanna broke on the counter attack in the 79th minute and squared to Beattie Goad in the area who had made a parallel run un-tracked, to tap home with the defence unable to recover. 3-1

City broke up a Sydney attack, and De Vanna beat a defender in the Sydney half and charged up to be one on one with Betos,  before slipping the ball past into the net in stoppage time to wrap it up. 4-1

Match details
Crowd:  4,206

Melbourne City FC:  1. Brianna DAVEY (gk), 4. Jennifer BEATTIE, 5. Laura ALEWAY, 6. Aivi LUIK, 7. Stephanie CATLEY, 8. Kim LITTLE, 9. Larissa CRUMMER (+67’ Marianna TABAIN), 10. Jessica FISHLOCK (c1) (+89’ Alexandra CHIDIAC), 11. Lisa DE VANNA (c2), 13. Rebekah STOTT, 16. Beatrice GOAD (+86’ Amy JACKSON)
Subs:   20. Trudy BURKE (gk), 18. Anisa GUAJARDO

Cards:  Beatttie 84′
Coach:  Joseph Montemurro

Sydney FC:  1. Michelle BETOS (gk), 2. Elizabeth RALSTON, 5. Jasmyne SPENCER, 6. Teresa POLIAS (c), 7. Nicola BOLGER (+84’ Olivia PRICE), 9. Princess IBINI (+63’ Sunny FRANCO), 11. Natalie TOBIN (+73’ Renee ROLLASON), 14. Alanna KENNEDY, 15. Teigen ALLEN, 17. Kyah SIMON, 19. Leena KHAMIS.  
 Subs:  18. Sham KHAMIS (gk), 16. Hannah BACON

Cards:  26’ Tobin, 53’ Simon, 83’ L. Khamis 84′
Coach:  Daniel Barrett

Referee: Kate Jacewicz;    Assistants:   Laura Moya, Renee Coghill;  Additional (goal-line): Rebecca Durcau, Kelly Jones; Fourth Official:  Danielle Anderson

Ratings and Points

Match  7/10
Pitch  8/10
Referee  6/10

Players points:
3.  Jennifer Beattie (MC)
2.  Kim Little (MC)
1.  Alanna Kennedy (SFC)

By Chris Dunkerley