Melbourne City over Glory in Women’s Final

By Chris Dunkerley:

Westfield W-League – Season 9 – 2016/2017 – Final
4:30pm, Friday 12 February, 2017 – East Perth Oval

Perth Glory FC  0
 lost to
Melbourne City FC  2 (Jess Fishlock 45’+1, Beverly Yanez 90’+3)

Last year’s winners Melbourne City are back as Westfield W-League champions for a successive finals series, defeating Perth Glory 2-0 in front of a record Final crowd of 4,591 at nib Stadium in Perth.

Glory had put away Sydney in their Semi, and City snatched a spot from fourth overcoming Premiers Canberra United, last weekend.

Goals in each half for the visitors, from Jess Fishlock (off good leadup work by Beverly Yanez) and then in stoppage time Beverly Yanez herself lifted a ball over Dal Busco’s reach – on top of their possession game – gave them the win.

Glory played a more direct style, with Melbourne’s Lydia Williams the busier ‘keeper, but  they relied too much on the individual contribution in attack of captain Sam Kerr.

Melbourne City became the first team to win the title for a second successive season, and just the second side to win the championship coming from fourth. For Perth Glory it was a step too far after  they finished eighth last season.

Match details   

Crowd:  4,591

Perth Glory FC:    18. Gabrielle DAL BUSCO (gk), 2.  Sarah CARROLL (5. Patricia CHARALAMBOUS +75′), 3. Kim CARROLL, 4. Alyssa MAUTZ, 7. Nicole STANTON, 9. Rosie SUTTON, 10. Vanessa DIBERNARDO, 13. Jaymee GIBBONS (8. Shawn BILLAM +54′), 17. Natasha RIGBY, 20. Samantha KERR (c), 22. Arianna ROMERO
 Substitutes not used –  1. Melissa MAIZELS (rgk), 6. Carla BENNETT, 14. Caitlin DOEGLAS

Cards:    Vanessa DiBernardo 82’
Coach:  Bobby Despotovski

Melbourne City FC:  1. Lydia WILLIAMS (gk), 2. Teigen ALLEN, 3. Lauren BARNES, 5. Laura ALLEWAY, 6. Aivi LUIK, 7. Steph CATLEY (c), 10. Jessica FISHLOCK, 11. Erika TYMRAK (14. Melina AYRES +90’+3), 13. Rebekah STOTT, 16. Beverly YANEZ (19. Tyla-Jay VLAJNIC +87′), 17. Marianna TABAIN (15. Amy JACKSON +69′)
Substitutes not used –  20. Emily SHIELDS (rgk), 12. Olivia ELLIS

Cards:      Marianna Tabain 66′
Coach:  Patrick Kisnorbo assisting Jessica Fishlock

Ratings and points

Referee: Kate Jacewicz      7/10
Assistant Referee 1: Sarah Ho, 2: Allyson Flynn; Fourth Official: Danielle Anderson
[Additional Assistant Referee 1: Rebecca Durcau, 2: Lara Lee]

Ground:   8/10
Game:    7/10