Glory join Jets on Top

By Chris Dunkerley

Westfield W-League – Season 10 – 2017/2018 – Round 2
1:30pm, Sunday 5 November 2016 – Suncorp Stadium

Brisbane Roar FC 1 (Clare Polkinghorne 43′)
lost to
Perth Glory FC 4 (Rachel Hill 42′, 59′, 83′, Sam Kerr 77′)


Perth Glory were just too strong up front for Brisbane Roar, despite the heroics of ‘keeper McKenzie Arnold, running out 4-1 winners away.

It proved to be a first half of stalemate, as two winners from round one sized each other up, with the action coming late. In the 40th minute Brisbane’s custodian McKenzie Arnold made a save on a point blank chance off American striker Rachel Hill.

Hill made good her threat two minutes later when she angled her shot from the right into the top of the net, from a weighted through ball by Sam Kerr. 0-1

In the 43rd minute it was back level, when Clare Polkinghorne bustled the ball into the net, of a rebound when

Arnold uncharacteristically couldn’t palm the ball over the bar. Instead Tameka’s Butts shot was tipped onto the bar and came out into danger. 1-1

The second half however was a different matter, with the cooling day allowing a faster more open contest.

Two minutes in the always dangerous Sam Kerr was denied by Arnold, who parried the shot. Six minutes later Hill had the ball in the net for Glory, but judged offside.

Still, just 6 minutes later Hill latched onto the rebound from Arnold’s parry, to score her second (and 4th of the season). 1-2

A penalty awarded to Sam Kerr in the 77th minutes was converted by the Perth star to make it 1-3

Glory made sure of their dominance in the 83rd minute with Rachel Hill bragging a hat-trick from a carefully placed shot. 1-4

Match details

Crowd: approx. 4,000 (double header)

Brisbane Roar FC: 1. Mackenzie ARNOLD (gk), 2. Carson PICKETT, 4. Clare POLKINGHORNE (c), 6. Celeste BOUREILLE, 8. Kaitlyn TORPEY, 9. CHEUNG Wai-Ki , 10. Katrina GORRY, 12. Allira TOBY, 13. Tameka BUTT, 14. Summer O’BRIEN, 15. Abbey LLOYD (3. Amy CHAPMAN +62′)
Substitutes – 30. Kirsten VEREEN (rgk), 11. Natalie TATHEM, 7. A. KIRBY

Cards: Yellow – Boureille 62′, Arnold 77′, O’Brien 82′
Coach: Melissa Andreatta

Perth Glory FC: 18. Melissa MAIZELS (gk), 2. Sarah CARROLL, 3. Kim CARROLL, 4. Natasha RIGBY, 5. Patricia CHARALAMBOUS, 7. Nicole STANTON (8. Shawn BILLAM +25′), 9. Rachel HILL, 10. Raquel RODRIGUEZ, 11. Nicola BOLGER (17. Marianna TABAIN +75′), 12. Shannon MAY, 13. Jaymee GIBBONS, 16. Amanda FRISBIE, 20. Samantha KERR (c)
Substitutes – 24. M. AQUINA (rgk), 6. Danielle BROGAN

Cards: Yellow – Frisbie 64′
Coach: Bobby Despotovski

Referee: Maddison Kennedy 8/10
Assistant Referee 1: Isabella Blaess; Assistant Referee 2: Danielle Potticary
Fourth Official: Rachel Mitchenson

Ratings and points
Ground: 8/10
Game: 7/10