Brisbane come back to draw with Coast

by Chris Dunkerley:

Hyundai A-League – Season 14 – 2018/2019 – Round 1
4pm, Sunday 21 October, 2018 – Lang Park, Brisbane

Brisbane Roar FC 1 (Adam Taggart 65′)
drew with
Central Coast Mariners FC 1 (Conor Pain 4′)

Brisbane Roar came back late in the game to level and draw this gripping opening game of their season, but it was the antics of the VAR (video assistant referee) that raised the roof more in this game.

Adam Taggart in his Brisbane Roar debut hit a second-half equaliser rescuing a 1-1 home draw with Central Coast Mariners on Sunday 21st October at Lang Park.

Transferred from Perth Glory, this 7-time Socceroo striker bungled several chances before redeeming himself in the 65th minute.

Connor Pain stunned the hosts with a 4th minute opening goal, from a run away down the left flank after receiving a nice pass from Tom Hiariej.

Taggart passed up several opportunities before half-time, notably from Tobias Mikkelsen’s play in, in the area.

Tommy Oar and Eric Bautheac threatened to conjure a winner as the entertainment amped up in the closing moments, but both defences stood tall to leave the Round 1 clash all square.

Three times the VAR intervened after referee Chris Beath, in an inconsistent performance, made the TV screen sign. Firstly a goal from Brisbane dissallowed for a marginal offside call, similarly Mariner’s defender Kalifa Cisse’s strong header ruled out, and then a goal to Brisbane ruled taken after an earlier offside.

Match details

Crowd: 14,859

Brisbane Roar FC: 21. Jamie Young (gk), 19. Jack Hingert, 24. Connor O’Toole, 8. Jacob Pepper, 6. Avraam Papadopoulos, 14. Alex López (17. Matt Mackay +84′), 11. Eric Bautheac, 7. Thomas Kristensen, 13. Stefan Mauk, 22. Tobias Mikkelsen ( 33. Henrique +61′), 9. Adam Taggart

Substitutes not used: 1 . Brendan White (gk), 4. Daniel Bowles, 15. Stefan Nigro

Yellow Cards: Jacob Pepper 57′, Connor O’Toole 67′

Coach: John Aloisi

Central Coast Mariners FC: 1. Ben Kennedy, 15. Kye Rowles, 3 . Jack Clisby, 20. Kalifa Cissé, 5. Antony Golec, 6. Tom Hiariej, 11. Connor Pain (25. Jordan Murray +78′), 8. Michael McGlinchey, 44. Ross McCormack, 10. Tommy Oar (22. Jacob Melling +87′), 19. Matt Simon (c) (Aiden O’Neill +68′),

Substitutes not used: 12. Adam Pearce (gk), 4. Jake McGing.

Yellow Cards: Michael McGlinchey 25′, Tom Hiariej 26′, Aidin O’Neill 79′, Kye Rowles 81′

Coach: Mike Mulvey

Referee: Chris Beath 5/10
Assistant Referee 1: Nathan MacDonald; 2: Anton Shchetinin
Fourth Official: Adam Kersey; VAR: Craig Zetter

Points and ratings

Match 8/10
Pitch 8/10

VAR 3/10

Player points:
3. Thomas Kristensen (BR)
2. Kalifa Cissé (CCM)
1. Connor O’Toole (BR)