Bill Turner Cup and Trophy 2016

billturnercupactionWednesday September 7


Pymble Ladies College (NSW) 4 (Sophie Nelson 14minute; Julia Vignes 36m; Emily Bastow 50m; Sarah Hunter 51m)


Hunter Sports High (Northern NSW) 2 (Tia Cook 37m; Ellie Jones 47m).

Player of the Final: Olivia Carolan – Pymble Ladies College.
Player of the Series: Anna Margraf – Cavendish Road State High

Bill Turner Trophy Final
Match Report by Bob Brooks

Pymble Ladies College played Hunter Sports High in this 26th Trophy Final. PLC had the better of the opening exchanges. Two chances flew wide of the target. The first goal of the game from a free kick on the right. Emily Bastow floated over the ball to the far post where Sophie Nelson cleverly beat the goalie with a header off the underside of the bar in the 14th minute.

PLC continued to try shots from any distance, while Hunter Sports lacked penetration. When the PLC goal was threatened the PLC shot stopper was alert to the danger.
Half time saw PLC leading by the odd goal.
A scintillating raid down the left wing took Julia Vines into Hunter’s penalty area where she cooly drew the keeper and slotted home for PLC’s second. Within a minute, in the 38th, Hunter Sports drew one back through Tia Cook. In the 45th minute a Hunter attacker was thwarted as she was bowled over by a fierce tackle The offence was in the penalty area. Ellie Jones the Hunter captain stepped up but her attempt was saves, However from the rebound the skipper banged it in for 2-2.

Moments later PLC restored their lead with a smartly taken shot from Emily Bastow on the right. Within seconds a further goal was added to the PLC tally from close range by, ironically, Sarah Hunter. This took the score to 4 – 2 in favour of PLC. Both goalkeepers were kept busy as Hunter Sports tried for a third and PLC went for a fifth.
Pymble Ladies College won the Bill Turner Trophy by 4 goals to 2 over Hunter Sports High.

Bill Turner Trophy Third place play-off

Cavendish Road State High (Qld) 2 (Anna Margraf 47minute, Taylah Roncato 52m)


St Mary’s Star of the Sea, Wollongong (NSW) 0.

By Bob Brooks

Both teams were well matched with Cavendish Road having a slight edge. St Marys Star of the Sea’s goalkeeper Hayley Reeves was called on to stop a number of shots.
A neat passing movement for Cavendish Road gave Anna Margraf a cache for a long shot into the top corner for the first goal in the 47th minute.
This lifted the Brisbane visitors and it was no surprise when Taylah Roncato added the second five minutes later.
The final score was 2-0 to South Brisbane’s Cavendish Road over St Mary’s Star of the Sea, Wollongong.

Wednesday September 7 at Lake Macquarie Regional Football Facility, Speers Point


The Hills Sports (NSW) 1 (Jacob Vasiliou 32minute penalty)


St Edwards, East Gosford (NSW) 0.

Player of the Final: Noah Pagden – St Edwards
Player of the Series: Budd Baublys – Kawana Waters
Bill Turner Spirit of Football Award: Archie Waterson – Kawana Waters

Bill Turner Cup Final Report
By Greg Danvers

In an even first half, both in play, chances and goals the two combatants went to the break nil-all after end-rot-end quality football.
Being the first team to score to win the 38th Bill Turner Cup was the talk at half-time around the Lake Macquarie Regional Football Facility and proved to be the case with The Hills Sports converting from the penalty spot two minutes after the resumption.

Jacob Vasiliou stepped up to take the pen and drove the ball into the roof of the net for was the match winner.
Both sides attacked, defended stoutly and counter attacked at every opportunity but the penalty stoke was the decider of an entertaining match.

The Hills Sports have now twice lifted the coveted Bill Turner Cup – ten years ago and today.

For St Edwards it was their third time at the Bill Turner Cup Finals Series, and having finished third in 2003 and 2013, it was a welcomed relief to have made the Final.

Bill Turner Cup Third place play-off:

Kawana Waters State College 3 (Ben Haigh 11minute, Jyi Oakes 26m, Kaelan Debbage 29m)


Illawarra Grammar 1 (Nick Peros 58m pen).

An early goal to Ben Haigh set Kawana Waters on their way to redemption for their 3-1 semi-final loss on Tuesday to East Gosford’s St Edwards College.
On 26minutes Jyi Oakes, who scored in the semi-final, added a second to give Illawarra a challenge to get back into the match.

The game placed even further from Illawarra’s reach when Kaelan Debbage’s blistering shot from the top of the area rocketed into the back of the net as the referee, Keegan Pulik was checking his watch for the half-time break.
The second half was end-to-end with many chances but both defences held firm until Nick Peros scored from the penalty spot, on 58minutes to salvage some pride for Illawarra Grammar.
Please follow the link below to Results/Reports and audio files from the 38th Bill Turner Cup played at Lake Macquarie Regional Football Facility on Tuesday September 6 and Wednesday September 7:

2016 Bill Turner Cup – draw, results and reports

High res images, now and more later, are available at:


Please visit the link below for the Finals wrap of the 26th Bill Turner Trophy played at Lake Macquarie Regional Football Facility on Tuesday September 6 and Wednesday September 7:

2016 Bill Turner Trophy – draw, results and reports

Kind regards and on behalf of Bill Turner School Football thank you for your support and interest in this tournament.

Greg Danvers,
Media Manager
Bill Turner Cup and Trophy